Go Back   Webmaster Malaysia Forum » Website Design & Development » E-Commerce

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 16-08-2005, 11:17 AM
Novice Webmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Penang
Posts: 54
Rep Power: 46
Zamri Nanyan is on a distinguished road
Someone copied my website content...

What would you do if you found out that the
website that you built to make money online
was copied by someone else?

You can send email to that person but he or
she might ignore you. You can hire a lawyer
to pursue this matter but you don't have
enough money to do that. So, how do you
go about it?
__________________
FREE Online Profit E-Course - www.ZamriNanyan.com
OPMS Anyone? - www.OnlineProfitsMadeSimple.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 16-08-2005, 04:08 PM
alang's Avatar
Senior Webmaster
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Posts: 695
Rep Power: 74
alang is on a distinguished road
contact the hosting provider. Normally they will close down the website if you can show them the evidence
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 20-08-2005, 12:47 AM
Novice Webmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Penang
Posts: 54
Rep Power: 46
Zamri Nanyan is on a distinguished road
Thanks Alang...

I'll take this step to close down her account tomorrow.

I've given the warning three days ago and it seems that she
just ignored me.

I'm learning from my own experience here. If anyone faced
the same problem in the future, you'll at least know what
to do.

I've posted a file detailing the steps to tackle this issue
on my blog at:

http://zamrinanyan.com/success/2005/...r-website.html

Hope this helps me and all of you...

I'll let you know the progress so that we all can learn here.

cheers,
Zamri

ps. Who wants to know the 'culprit' website?
__________________
FREE Online Profit E-Course - www.ZamriNanyan.com
OPMS Anyone? - www.OnlineProfitsMadeSimple.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 20-08-2005, 01:10 PM
eclick's Avatar
Novice Webmaster
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: PJ
Posts: 16
Rep Power: 0
eclick is on a distinguished road
Hi Zamri,

Mind to reveal the culprit ? The culprit is brave enough to do such unethical thing....

Thanks for sharing your blog, I 've just downloaded plagiarizedlesson.pdf. ALthough I may not need it now, it may be useful for me in future should same thing happen to me.

Thanks.
__________________
Are You Ready To Quit Your Day Job ?

http://studiotraffic.eclicksoft.com/
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 20-08-2005, 01:43 PM
Novice Webmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Penang
Posts: 54
Rep Power: 46
Zamri Nanyan is on a distinguished road
Check out biginspiration.com while it's still up.

I'm beginning to contact her webhosting today after the
second email I sent her last night.

Guys, be careful with Angela Lim (angelamalaysia@yahoo.com)
and Budiman Lee. They are from Malaysia (so sad it happens
to be someone from my own country).

eclick, I never thought it could happen to me too until someone
pointed out the website. So, it's good to keep that file in hand.
Everyone doing online business (like I do) have to know this.

take care,

Zamri
__________________
FREE Online Profit E-Course - www.ZamriNanyan.com
OPMS Anyone? - www.OnlineProfitsMadeSimple.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 21-08-2005, 03:02 AM
Novice Webmaster
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kuala Lumpur
Posts: 67
Rep Power: 54
ReadyCompanies is on a distinguished road
Search for copies of your page on the Web - http://www.copyscape.com

http://www.copyscape.com

very good program for checking purposes.
__________________
Pendaftaran Syarikat Sdn Bhd - Online
Company Registration Service

http://www.ReadyCompanies.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 21-08-2005, 06:48 PM
Novice Webmaster
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Penang
Posts: 54
Rep Power: 46
Zamri Nanyan is on a distinguished road
Update on my case so that my issue is a lesson for everyone to learn...

I've checked the details of biginspiration.com at http://www.whois.sc

Today, I've sent an email to her webhosting company. Here's the exact
email I sent them...


*****************************************

Subject = Fraudulent Site…

Hello TuCows Support,

It has come to my attention that a website that
you are hosting has completely plagiarized my
business model, including:

* Plagiarizing my "entire" sales letter (including
the exact font sizes and colors of the texts).

Here's the website in question:
biginspiration.com

You will notice that this site has copied
word by word from my website: http://www.mlmlessons.com

I have tried contacting the administrator for
this website, but no one wants to entertain me.

Here's what's listed near the bottom of
biginspiration.com

Lim, Angela (angelamalaysia@yahoo.com)
28, Jln 20/15
Petaling Jaya 46300
Malaysia
122278385

I believe this person also put a fake phone number
as I also live in Malaysia and the listed number
looks suspicious. I did make a few calls to the
phone number above and there was actually only
a flat tone heard.

I tried emailing the given address listed above,
and I got no reply.

A simple search in Google for "MLM Lessons"
will prove that my website has been around for
over 2 years.

You will also noticed by my Alexa rankings,
that my site is at 482,112. The Big Inspiration
ranking is at 3,488,491 ( 3 million plus )

Here's the direct Big Inspiration ranking: http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr...nspiration.com

Here's the "MLM Lessons" ranking: http://www.alexa.com/data/details/tr...mlmlessons.com

If you have any questions regarding the information
provided herein, do not hesitate to contact me at
+XXXXXX, you can also call me on my cell phone
at +6013-XXXXXXX.

Required Action?

Since this person has clearly infringed on an
endless amount of copyrights involved. I would
suggest that you *immediately* shut down this
account.

Or you can attempt to contact the administrator,
and have them provide you an appropriate explanation
as to why this website is live on the web.

I trust that you will take this matter seriously
and do the right thing.

Thanks in advance.

Sincerely,
Zamri Nanyan
"MLM Lessons"
Founder http://www.MLMLessons.com

P.S. I will be posting this letter online at
one of the most popular forums on the web.
Where I've been talking about this case in
the last few days.

I'm sure they will be eager to know how
Tucows.Com will handle this type of situation.
You can follow the thread at: http://webmastermalaysia.com/showthread.php?t=6228
__________________
FREE Online Profit E-Course - www.ZamriNanyan.com
OPMS Anyone? - www.OnlineProfitsMadeSimple.com
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hotlinking Content : How Ethical It Is? gloss Website Design 5 15-09-2007 07:17 AM
I Got Copied Literally squarehippies Websites Review and Suggestion 4 05-01-2007 10:10 AM
Web Content Management ? eyeball Website Programming 8 19-09-2005 12:00 PM
Sell content on your website sirxl Websites Review and Suggestion 0 08-03-2005 10:24 PM



All times are GMT +8. The time now is 08:28 AM. Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0 vBulletin skin by ForumMonkeys.com.


WebmasterMalaysia.com is Proudly Hosted by Exabytes Semi Dedicated Server.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60