We got this recently, from westnet.hk.cn
Quote:
Dear CEO,
We are a domain name registration service company in asia, which mainly deal with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to confirm with your company.
On the July 8, 2008, we received an application formally. One company named "Gtya Tbobu Company" wanted to register following
Domain names:
ourdomain.cn
ourdomain.com.cn
ourdomain.net.cn
ourdomain.org.cn
ourdomain.tw
ourdomain.com.tw
ourdomain.hk
ourdomain.asia
Internet TradeMark:
ourdomain
through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark. These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not finished the registration of Gtya Tbobu Company yet, in order to deal with this issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Olar
|
They made up the name of the company - you can find other very similar emails from this company in articles about spam on the Internet, always with a different company name. Their goal is to sell you domain names similar to your own, but in different TLDs. Fairly harmless, but spam, nonetheless. Slightly less harmless than most spam, they claim to be obliged by their government to protect you:
Quote:
|
So required by government to inform your company to protect your Intellectual property.
|
Just ignore them, we made the mistake of replying to them initially, but they soon give up if you don't reply.